Gluten encompasses the proteins in a variety of foods and helps them hold their shape. Foods with gluten include wheat, rye, and barley. Which foods have gluten can be tricky to identify, but for those with gluten intolerance, avoiding gluten is crucial.
You might be asking, “Should I avoid gluten?” Going gluten free and following a gluten-free diet plan can be tough, but many companies now follow strict guidelines for those on gluten-free diets. What does gluten free mean, though? To be gluten free, you must eliminate all wheat, barley, and rye products from your diet.
People choose to follow a gluten-free diet for many reasons, including gluten intolerance, gluten sensitivity, and Celiac disease. Signs and symptoms of gluten intolerance and gluten sensitivity can include digestive issues, inflammation of joints, and fatigue or brain fog after eating gluten. A gluten allergy would show as Celiac disease symptoms, including malabsorption, bone or joint pain, fatigue, and tingling or numbness in the hands or feet. You should speak with your doctor about tests to determine if you’re allergic to gluten.
Eating a gluten-free diet may seem challenging, but it just takes some added attention to labels. Just because it says wheat-free does not mean that it’s gluten-free! Malt flavoring or extract is sometimes found in cereals and is also not gluten-free. It’s safest to purchase products that have a gluten-free label.
Good news: It’s getting easier to find gluten-free foods! Here is a sample list of gluten-free foods, including gluten-free grains:
You can view a full gluten-free food list on the Celiac Disease Foundation’s site.
Yes! Many of our meals are gluten-free and are clearly labeled on our Menu page. We focus on a plant-strong diet, so gluten is naturally absent from many of our meals. You can easily filter on options by selecting the gluten-free filter on the Menu page.